top of page
Search

Podcasts: A Love Story

Podcasts started for me as a way to pass the time during long shifts at my first job, which had large portions of time overnight where there wasn't anything else to engage with in the silence and solitude of the position. They were fun, and I learned a lot from educational podcasts and laughed even more at the comedy podcasts from indie comedians like Stop Podcasting Yourself. Then I found the Maximum Fun Network in 2011 and realized podcasts could be something more, perhaps even a form of creative expression. MaxFun had just signed my favorite podcast, My Brother, My Brother, and Me, to their network and I was flush with ideas for shows of my own. Being young and having no money or confidence though, I sat on my ideas for the better part of the next decade until I mustered up the courage to record a show and put my ideas out into the world to be judged, or, most likely, just ignored.


I fell in love even more with the medium. Even if nobody listened I was determined to create. Then something strange happened: someone listened. Then more people listened, and then I had three podcasts all of a sudden that were gaining some traction in their topic circles. When I got my first review it made my month, and I knew I could never turn back. Flash forward almost three years, I now have a recording studio in my home office and I'm always thinking of new projects to get involved with or to start from scratch.


I want this to be the start of something, which is why I decided to take the leap and create Moundhousedude Studios. All of the shows I helped bring into the world will lie under this umbrella, and I have major plans to turn it into an independent podcasting studio which will showcase the talent that the podcasting world has (more on that another time though, although some cool things are in the works). Thank you for visiting the site, thank you for engaging with my work and the work of the countless independent creators out there, and stay tuned because some really cool things are about to happen.


Much love,


-Devon

Founder/Executive Producer

Moundhousedude Studios

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Libraries.

Carl Sagan wrote that early scientific and academic discoveries did little to benefit the societies in which they were being made, outside of military applications, which contributed to the downfall o

Ponder the Small.

I’ve been contemplating the size of things lately. Not like “I’m 6’1” and my wife is 5’ 8”” sizes, but more like macro-verse vs. micro-verse scales of things. Take the universe, for example. It would

May 20th, 2021.

If your very existence scares a Nazi, conservative, cis man, or evangelical… you’re probably doing something right. Be fantastic, my friends.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page