top of page
Search

A Brief History Of... Rocks Fall!

Next up on our tour of podcasts here at MHD Studios is our very own Rocks Fall. Rocks Fall hosts interviews & reviews from the world of tabletop role-playing games (RPGs) and board games with an emphasis on inclusivity and philanthropy. What that means is that I interview awesome, independent creators in the tabletop industry to give them a platform for their creations. I focus on games and creators that bring inclusivity and giving back to the community to the forefront of their product, and have a whole heck of a lot of fun nerding out with my fellow game geeks in the process. I also review tabletop games and RPGs outside of the big names (Wizards of the Coast, Paizo, etc.) to give them more visibility.


Rocks Fall started out WAY back in 2017 as an actual play podcast for 5th edition Dungeons and Dragons with my lovely wife and a couple friends called Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies (a play on a popular saying within old-school gamers). As we went on, I became more and more aware of just how difficult it is to produce a D&D podcast with decent audio and, more importantly, a purpose. The market was already saturated with actual plays where four white people sat a microphone down on a table and made dick jokes for 40 minutes while occasionally rolling dice, and I hated it. We made it a whole 6 episodes before I called off the show and before the group naturally fell apart, a problem that a lot of my fellow tabletop friends are well aware of, I'm sure. I sat on the podcast feed for several months, still wanting to do something with it, and came up wit the idea for what Rocks Fall is now.


I want this show to have meaning and make a difference in this community that I love so much, and I think this is the podcast it was always meant to be. 24 episodes into this new format, Rocks Fall is starting to make a name for itself, and I couldn't be happier with the feedback I'm getting. Looking forward, I hope to expand the show to include more guests and definitely more live shows, because hosting one was very fun.


Next up is the last of the shows under the MHD Studios umbrella, Fabled. Thanks for sticking with us this far, everyone! We've got more amazing content coming up, so stay tuned.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Libraries.

Carl Sagan wrote that early scientific and academic discoveries did little to benefit the societies in which they were being made, outside of military applications, which contributed to the downfall o

Ponder the Small.

I’ve been contemplating the size of things lately. Not like “I’m 6’1” and my wife is 5’ 8”” sizes, but more like macro-verse vs. micro-verse scales of things. Take the universe, for example. It would

May 20th, 2021.

If your very existence scares a Nazi, conservative, cis man, or evangelical… you’re probably doing something right. Be fantastic, my friends.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page